Skip to main content

Electronic data interchange

​​​​​​​What is EDI?

Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) is the computer-to-computer exchange of business data in standard formats. In EDI, information is organized according to a specified format set by both parties, allowing a "hands-off" computer transaction that requires no human intervention or rekeying on either end. All information contained in an EDI transaction set is, for the most part, the same as on a conventionally printed document.

Some benefits of EDI include:

  • Reduced cycle time
  • Increased productivity
  • Reduced costs
  • Improved accuracy
  • Improved business relationships
  • Minimized paper use and storage

Trade with CP

To become a trading partner with CP, together we decide on which standards to use, the information to be exchanged, and the VAN. Once this is done, the documents we exchange are automatically translated, secured and delivered via the VAN.

CP's preferred Value Added Network (VAN)

CP selected a new preferred VAN for electronic Business-to-Business (B2B) activity - Railinc and Sterling Commerce. Railinc and Sterling have partnered to form a strong team with the skills and experience necessary to meet the needs of CP, our customers and our suppliers. Railinc's vast experience and strong background in data translations provides us with the industry experience we require to be successful. Sterling's 25-year history as a leading business-to-business integration company gives us a secure and efficient transport for critical business documents.  Railinc and Sterling will be working together to migrate CP's trading partners to the most cost-effective and attractive set of e-commerce solutions available to a rail carrier in North America.​

​EDI alt​​​ernatives

O​​RISS


Online Rail Industry Supply System (ORISS) is the preferred website for rail industry suppliers to use when receiving purchase orders and submitting invoices with major railroads. It has three options, full P.O./invoice processing, material invoices only, or fuel invoices only.​


Email or Fax


Non-PO invoices may be submitted by email and fax.​

Skip to main content

EDI – Échange de documents informatisé

​​​Qu’est-ce que l’EDI?

L’échange de documents informatisé ou Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) est l’échange de données commerciales en formats uniformisés entre des ordinateurs. L’EDI exige que l’information soit organisée selon des formats établis par les deux parties, permettant ainsi des transactions informatiques « sans mains » qui ne demandent aucune intervention humaine ou resaisie chez le destinataire. Toutes les données transmises en mode EDI sont pour la plupart identiques à celles d’un document imprimé traditionnel.

Voici certains des avantages de l’EDI :​

  • Réduction de la durée du cycle
  • Augmentation de la productivité
  • Réduction des coûts
  • Amélioration de l’exactitude
  • Amélioration des relations commerciales
  • Réduction de l’utilisation du papier et des espaces d’entreposage

Échanger avec le CP

Une fois que vous avez décidé de devenir un partenaire EDI du CP, nous déciderons ensemble des normes à utiliser, des données à échanger et du réseau à valeur ajoutée (RVA) à utiliser. Une fois ces critères établis, les documents que nous échangerons seront automatiquement traduits, sécurisés et livrés par le RVA.

  • Examen des transactions existantes
  • Pour devenir un partenaire EDI du CP, veuillez envoyer un courriel à SSD_EDI@cpr.ca

Réseau à valeur ajoutée (RVA) privilégié du CP

Le CP a un nouveau RVA privilégié pour ses activités électroniques interentreprises : Railinc et Sterling Commerce. Railinc et Sterling se sont unis pour former une équipe des plus compétentes qui possède toutes les connaissances et l’expérience voulues pour répondre aux besoins du CP, de ses clients et de ses partenaires. La vaste expérience de Railinc et ses nombreux succès en matière de traduction de données nous assurent l’expérience commerciale nécessaire à notre réussite. Sterling, chef de file depuis 25 ans dans le domaine de l’intégration interentreprises, nous garantit le transport efficace et sûr des documents commerciaux cruciaux. Railinc et Sterling travailleront ensem​​ble pour procéder à la migration des partenaires commerciaux du CP vers l’ensemble de solutions de commerce électronique le plus avantageux sur le plan des coûts et le plus attrayant disponible pour un transporteur ferroviaire en Amérique du Nord.

Solutions de rechange à l'EDI

Le Online Rail Industry Supply System (ORISS) est le site Web à privilégier pour les fournisseurs de l'industrie ferroviaire afin de recevoir des bons de commande et d'envoyer des factures aux grandes entreprises de chemin de fer.

Email/Fax

Factures sans bon de commande peuvent être envoyés par courriel et fax.