Skip to main content

Parks Canada and Canadian Pacific Share Results From Multiyear Joint Research Initiative

​​​​​​​​Research initiative in Banff and Yoho national parks helping to protect grizzly bears

Today, Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change Canada and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, and Mr. Glen Wilson, Assistant Vice-President Environmental Risk, Canadian Pacific (CP), announced the completion of the joint Parks Canada-CP Grizzly Bear Research Initiative to help reduce railway related risk to grizzly bears.

In 2010, CP and Parks Canada signed a five-year Joint Action Plan aimed at reducing grizzly bear mortality on the rail line in Banff and Yoho national parks. While a reduction in grizzly mortalities within Banff and Yoho national parks has been observed since the start of this joint research initiative, this research shows there is no simple solution to this issue.

By working collaboratively since the launch of this initiative, Parks Canada, CP, and research teams from the Universities of Alberta and Calgary learned about the complex factors that influence grizzly bear behaviour along the rail line in Banff and Yoho national parks.

Between 2010 and 2015, at any given time, a minimum of 11-13 grizzly bears with GPS radio-collars were being tracked by researchers. The data collected showed specialists where, when and sometimes why bears were using the railway. Based on the recommendations from the research initiative and in keeping with the Canada National Parks Act and Banff and Yoho Park Management Plans, Parks Canada and CP will implement measures on and off the railway to help reduce the risk of grizzly bear train collisions including the use of prescribed fire, development of alternative travel routes for bears, targeted vegetation management, and a pilot exclusion fencing program near railway greasing stations.

The results of the research and subsequent action from CP and Parks Canada will reduce the likelihood of bear-train collisions and further protect this iconic species for present and future generations.

Quotes

"Our Government is committed to protecting and preserving our national parks and its wildlife. This unique collaboration between Canadian Pacific and Parks Canada allows us to use the best available science to help reduce railway-related risks posed to grizzly bears. These efforts in conservation will insure that bears and people can continue to successfully share the iconic landscape of Banff and Yoho national parks for generations to come."

The Honourable Catherine McKenna Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

"CP has a proud history of working closely with Parks Canada in protecting our national parks. The results of this five-year partnership will help CP and other stakeholders make decisions that ensure the on-going health of the grizzly bear population while continuing to meet the needs of the North American economy. CP is pleased to have taken a leadership role on this initiative, the results of which will also assist other railways in better managing their own relationships with wildlife."

Glen Wilson, Assistant Vice-President Environmental Risk, CP

Quick Facts

  • Parks Canada is a recognized world leader in conservation and manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.
  • In 1883, three CP railway construction workers stumbled across a cave containing hot springs on the eastern slopes of Alberta's Rocky Mountains and from that humble beginning Banff National Park was born.
  • Banff and Yoho national parks are Canada's first and second national parks. Both are part of the larger Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks UNESCO World Heritage Site – one of the largest contiguous protected areas in the world.
  • Over the past decade, there have been 10 confirmed rail-caused grizzly mortalities in Banff and Yoho national parks. Though we can never fully eliminate the risk of a wildlife mortality along the railway, we believe we can help reduce this risk by piloting targeted science-based mitigations.
  • CP's biodiversity strategy is based on prevention, research and remediation.

Associated Document

Backgrounder: ​Banff-Yoho-NP-Grizzly-Bear-Initiative-with-CP.docx

Related Link​

http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/mtn/ours-bears/conservation/cp.aspx

 Contacts

Parks Canada Agency
Media Relations 
855-862-1812
pc.media@pc.gc.ca

CP
Jeremy Berry
Director of Media Relations
403-319- 6227
Jeremy_Berry@cpr.ca

See all news

Skip to main content

Parcs Canada et Canadien Pacifique communiquent les résultats d'un projet conjoint de recherche pluriannuel

​​​​Projet de recherche aux parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho visant à protéger les ours grizzlis

 Aujourd'hui, Catherine McKenna, ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique Canada et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, et M. Glen Wilson, vice‑président adjoint, Risque environnemental, Canadien Pacifique (CP), ont annoncé l'achèvement de l'Initiative d'étude conjointe de l'ours grizzli Parcs Canada ‑ CP visant à réduire le risque posé pour les ours grizzlis par la voie ferrée. 

En 2010, CP et Parcs Canada ont convenu d'un plan d'action conjoint quinquennal visant à réduire la mortalité des ours grizzlis sur la voie ferrée traversant les parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho. Bien qu'une réduction de la mortalité des ours grizzlis dans les parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho ait été observée depuis le début de ce projet de recherche conjoint, l'étude fait ressortir qu'il n'y a pas de solution simple au problème.

En travaillant en collaboration depuis le lancement de ce projet, Parcs Canada, CP et des équipes de chercheurs des universités de l'Alberta et de Calgary ont pris connaissance des facteurs complexes qui influencent le comportement des ours grizzlis le long de la voie ferrée des parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho.

Entre 2010 et 2015, à n'importe quel moment donné, au moins 11 à 13 ours grizzlis dotés de colliers‑radio GPS faisaient l'objet d'un suivi par les chercheurs. Les données recueillies ont permis aux spécialistes de déterminer où, quand et, parfois, pourquoi les ours utilisaient la voie ferrée. En se fondant sur les recommandations issues du projet de recherche, et conformément à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et aux plans directeurs des parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho, Parcs Canada et CP mettront en œuvre des mesures sur la voie ferrée et hors voie en vue de réduire le risque de collisions ferroviaires avec les ours grizzlis, notamment des brûlages dirigés, l'aménagement de parcours de rechange pour les ours, la gestion ciblée de la végétation, ainsi qu'un programme pilote d'installation de clôtures d'exclusion près des postes de graissage de la voie ferrée.

Les résultats de la recherche ainsi que les mesures qui seront mise en place par CP et Parcs Canada contribueront à réduire la probabilité de collisions ferroviaires avec les ours et de protéger cette espèce emblématique pour les générations actuelles et futures.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement est déterminé à protéger et préserver nos parcs nationaux et leur faune. Cette collaboration unique entre Canadien Pacifique et Parcs Canada nous permet d'utiliser les meilleures données scientifiques disponibles pour aider à réduire les risques posés pour les ours grizzlis par la voie ferrée. Ces efforts de conservation permettront de s'assurer que les ours et les personnes peuvent continuer de partager avec succès le paysage emblématique des parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho, et ce, pour les générations à venir. »

Honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l'Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

« CP a de fiers antécédents de travail concerté avec Parcs Canada ayant pour but de protéger nos parcs nationaux. Les résultats de ce partenariat quinquennal aideront CP et les autres intervenants à prendre des décisions qui assurent le maintien de la santé de la population d'ours grizzlis, tout en continuant de répondre aux besoins de l'économie nord‑américaine. CP est heureux d'assumer un rôle de leadership aux fins de ce projet, dont les résultats aideront également d'autres compagnies ferroviaires à mieux gérer leurs propres relations avec la faune. »

Glen Wilson, vice‑président adjoint, Risque environnemental, CP

Les faits en bref

  • L'Agence Parcs Canada est un chef de file mondial reconnue en matière de conservation et gère l'un des plus grands et des plus beaux réseaux d'aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées au monde.
  • En 1883, trois travailleurs de la construction de la compagnie ferroviaire CP ont trouvé par hasard une caverne contenant des sources thermales sur les pentes est des montagnes Rocheuses de l'Alberta. De cet humble début est né le parc national Banff.
  • Les parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho sont les premier et second parcs nationaux du Canada. Les deux font partie des parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes, un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, et l'une des aires protégées contiguës les plus importantes au monde.
  • Au cours de la dernière décennie, il y a eu dix mortalités d'ours grizzlis confirmées attribuables à la voie ferrée dans les parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho. Bien que nous ne puissions pas éliminer entièrement le risque de mortalité de la faune le long de la voie ferrée, nous croyons pouvoir aider à réduire ce risque en faisant l'essai de mesures d'atténuation ciblées, fondées sur des données scientifiques.
  • La stratégie de biodiversité de CP est basée sur la prévention, la recherche et l'atténuation.

Document connexe

​Document d'information : Projet de recherche Parcs Canada‑CP sur l'ours grizzli

Liens connexe ​

http://www.pc.gc.ca/fra/pn-np/mtn/ours-bears/conservation/cp.aspx

 ​

 Renseignements

​Agence Parcs Canada 
Relations avec les médias
855‑862‑1812
pc.media@pc.gc.ca

CP
Jeremy Berry
Directeur, Relations avec les médias
403‑319‑ 6227
Jeremy_Berry@cpr.ca


See all news