Skip to main content

Key metrics

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ These measures represent only some of the indicators of railroad performance. Readers are therefore cautioned not to rely solely on this information as an indication of CP’s overall performance, financial or otherwise, as it may be misleading when viewed in isolation.​

Revision to Employee Counts

Starting in 1Q 2016, CP will be amending its definition of "Employees."  CP's prior employee definition reflected only full-time employees who had worked more than 40 hours in a pay period; as our business continues to change and evolve, the company has determined that a better and more fulsome definition should capture all employees regardless of the number of hours worked. 

A spreadsheet summarizing the impact to CP's historical employee counts can be found here

The definition of workforce – the metric most commonly referenced by management – remains unchanged.

  • Previous definition - Employee: ​An employee is defined as an individual, including trainees, who has worked more than 40 hours in a standard biweekly pay period. This excludes part time employees, contractors, and consultants.
  • New definition - Employee: An employee is defined as an individual currently engaged in full-time or part-time employment with CP.
  • Workforce: Workforce is defined as employees plus contractors and consultants.​

Starting in Q2 2014, CP made the following two changes to the presentation of its income statement:

1. New revenue breakout
To provide the investment community with better visibility into CP’s revenue drivers we have broken out our existing lines of business into more detail:

  • Grain has been split into Canadian Grain and US Grain
  • Fertilizers and Sulphur has been split into Potash and Fertilizers & Sulphur
  • Industrial Products has been split into Crude; Chemicals & Plastics;  Metals, Minerals & Consumer Products
  • Intermodal has been split into Domestic Intermodal and International Intermodal
  • Coal, Forest Products, and Automotive remain unchanged

2. Expense reclassification
Billings to third parties for the recovery of costs incurred for freight car repairs and servicing have been reclassified from “Purchased services and other” to “​Compensation and benefits” and “Materials” in order to match the billings with the costs incurred on behalf of the third parties. Total operating expenses are unchanged as a result of this reclassification.

A spreadsheet showing the impact of these changes on our historical results can be downloaded here​ 

CP reports carload data on a weekly basis to the Association of American Railroads (AAR). The links below contain the data provided to the AAR as well as the same data re​organized to reflect the line of business categories used by CP for financial reporting purposes. ​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​Weekly carlo​​​ads​
(reported to AAR)

Weekly carloads & RT​M's
(reported by line​​​ of business)

​20172017
2016​2016
​​2015​2015
2014 2014
2013 2013
2012 2012
2011 2011
2010 2010
2009 2009

Effective September 1, 2013 CP has updated its definitions for terminal dwell and train speed to better reflect operational changes and performance. As a result of these updates, CP’s performance measures will not be directly comparable to the metrics reported by other Class 1 railroads and will no longer be posted on the AAR’s website. Key performance measures will still be posted to CP’s website on a weekly basis.

Perfor​mance Measures

Key Performance Measures​​
Historical Data – Terminal ​​Dwell
Historical Data – Train Speed

CP uses the following definitions:

Train Speed

Train Speed measures the line-haul movement from origin to destination. The average speed is calculated by dividing train-miles by total hours operated, excluding yard and local trains, passenger trains, maintenance of way trains. System-wide average train speeds are given for the following train types:

  • Intermodal
  • Manifest
  • Multilevel
  • Coal Unit
  • Grain Unit
  • All trains

Terminal Dwell (Hours)

Terminal Dwell is the average time a car resides within terminal boundaries expressed in hours. The measurement begins with a customer release, received interchange, or train arrival event and ends with a customer placement (actual or constructive), delivered or offered in interchange, or train departure event. This will exclude stored, bad ordered, and maintenance of way cars.

Cars on line

Cars On Line is the average of the daily on-line inventory of freight cars. Articulated cars are counted as a single unit. Cars on private tracks (e.g., at a customer's facility) are counted on the last railroad on which they were located. Maintenance of way cars are excluded.

Cars on Line figures are reported by car type for the following car types:

  • Box -> A,B,R
  • Covered Hopper -> C
  • Gondola -> E,G
  • Intermodal -> P,Q,S
  • Tank -> T
  • Open Top Hopper -> H,J,K
  • Other -> L, F

and by car ownership:

  • System Car:Owned by the railroad on which it is located
  • Foreign RR: Owned by a railroad other than the one on which it is located
  • Private: Owned by a non-railroad (i.e., has a car initial that ends in "X") and not leased to a railroad
​​​

Skip to main content

Analystes

​​​​​Ces indicateurs ne sont qu’une faible partie des mesures de rendement des activités ferroviaires. Pris séparément, ils peuvent être source de confusion et les lecteurs ne doivent donc pas s’y fier uniquement pour évaluer le rendement global du CP, notamment dans le domaine financier.

Au T2 de 2014, le CP a apporté deux modifications à la présentation de son état des résultats.

1. Nouvelle répartition des revenus
Afin que les investisseurs puissent mieux voir les inducteurs de revenus du CP, nous avons redivisé nos secteurs d'activités :

  • ​Les céréales sont maintenant réparties par pays, c'est-à-dire Canada et États-Unis.
  • Les engrais et le soufre ont été divisés en trois catégories, soit la potasse, les engrais et le soufre.
  • Les produits industriels ont été subdivisés en pétrole brut, produits chimiques, plastiques, métaux, minéraux et produits de consommation.
  • Le trafic intermodal est désormais scindé en trafic intermodal en régime intérieur et trafic intermodal interna​tional.
  • Le charbon, les produits forestiers et les produits automobiles n'ont pas été modifiés.

​2. Reclassement des dépenses
Les montants facturés aux tiers pour le recouvrement des coûts engagés pour les services de réparation et d'entretien des wagons ont été reclassés du poste « Services achetés et autres » aux postes « Rémunération et charges sociales » et « Matières » afin d'apparier les montants facturés avec les coûts engagés au nom des tiers. Les charges d'exploitation totales ne sont pas touchées par ce reclassement.


Vous pouvez télécharger une feuille de calcul qui montre les répercussions de ces modifications sur nos résultats antérieurs en cliquant ici. ​

Le CP transmet chaque semaine un rapport complet sur ses envois par wagon à l'Association of American Railroads (AAR). Les liens ci-dessous mènent aux données fournies à l'AAR ainsi qu'aux mêmes données répertoriées selon les secteurs d'activités et les catégories utilisés par le CP pour présenter ses résultats financiers. P>

Envois hebdomadaires par wagon (selon le rapport présenté à l’AAR)

Envois hebdomadaires par wagon et T MC (par secteur d'activités)

​2017
2017

Le 1er septembre 2013, le CP a modifié ses définitions des termes « Durée de séjour en terminal » et « Vitesse des trains » afin qu'elles reflètent mieux les changements opérationnels et le rendement. En raison de ces modifications, les indicateurs de rendement du CP ne pourront être comparés d'emblée avec les indicateurs des autres chemins de fer de classe 1 et ne seront plus affichés sur le site Web de l'AAR. Les indicateurs de rendement clés seront affichés chaque semaine sur le site Web du CP.

Indicateurs de rendement

Historique de 53 semaines

Les définitions suivantes sont utilisées au CP :

Vitesse des trains

La vitesse des trains permet de mesurer le mouvement du transport de ligne d'un point d'origine à un point d'arrivée. La vitesse moyenne est calculée en divisant le nombre de trains-milles par la somme des heures d'exploitation, en excluant les trains en triage, les trains locaux, les trains de passagers et les trains d'entretien de la voie. La vitesse moyenne des trains à l'échelle du réseau est donnée pour les types de trains suivants :

  • Trains intermodaux
  • Trains réguliers
  • Wagons multiniveaux
  • Trains-blocs de charbon
  • Trains-blocs céréaliers
  • Tous les trains

Durée de séjour en terminal (heures)

La durée de séjour en terminal est le temps moyen, en heures, qu'un wagon passe dans les limites d'un terminal. Le calcul de la durée de séjour commence lorsque le client libère le wagon, lorsque le wagon est rapatrié en service d'échange ou qu'il arrive à bord d'un train et se termine lorsque le wagon est placé (mis à disposition ou mis en attente), livré, offert en service d'échange ou quitte à bord d'un train. La durée de séjour en terminal exclut les wagons stockés, avariés ainsi que les wagons utilisés pour l'entretien des voies.

Wagons en service

Moyenne du nombre hebdomadaire de wagons en service (évaluation quotidienne) selon les différents types, répartie par réseau et utilisation (étranger ou privé). Les wagons en service ne comprennent pas les wagons garés pour entretien, les wagons lourdement avariés, les véhicules d'entretien de la voie, les wagons étrangers et appartenant à TTX à récupérer, ni les wagons de particuliers utilisés sur des voies privées.

Les wagons d'entreprise appartiennent (selon le registre des désignations MARK) ou sont loués (selon le champ locataire du registre du matériel UMLER) au chemin de fer qui fait la déclaration.

Les wagons étrangers comprennent tous les wagons marqués ou loués par le chemin de fer qui fait la déclaration. Il n'en est pas propriétaire. Les wagons de particuliers sont tous les wagons définis par les codes de propriété UMLER B, C, M et F.

Le type de wagon est désigné par la première lettre du code de l'AAR, soit:

  • Couvert -> A, B, R
  • Trémie couvert -> C
  • Tombereau -> E, G
  • Intermodal -> P, Q, S
  • Citerne -> T
  • Trémie découvert -> H, J, K
  • Autre -> F, L, M

et par propriétaire de wagon :

  • Wagon réseau : appartient au réseau ferroviaire sur lequel il se trouve 
  • Wagon étranger : appartient à un réseau ferroviaire autre que celui sur lequel il se trouve
  • Wagon privé : appartient à un propriétaire autre qu'un réseau ferroviaire (p. ex., sa marque de wagon se termine par un « X ») et n'est pas loué à un réseau ferroviaire
​​