Skip to main content

Grain

 Zone Configuration ‭[6]‬

 Content Editor ‭[6]‬

​From dedicated trains to dedicated people, CP is focused on moving grain to market and has been for more than 130 years.

Grain is CP’s largest line of business and CP has been serving the grain industry for over a century. CP is driving the next level of efficiency in the North American grain supply chain by providing products and services that are competitive and help our partners win in the market. We are focused on growing our grain business through industrial development projects and ongoing service enhancements.

 Zone Configuration ‭[7]‬

 Content Editor ‭[7]‬

 Dedicated Train Program Zone

 Content Editor ‭[3]‬

CP's Dedicated Train Program (DTP) gives our customers greater visibility and control of their car supply to manage their supply chain. 

  • First introduced in 2014, more than 75% of CP's grain business now uses the DTP
  • CP’s dedicated train program responds to dynamic market conditions, enabling customers to ensure they have the necessary capacity to ship their products to market
  • Customers control their own train assets for a period of 12 months
  • Customers use the DTP capacity they need when they need it and trains can be used in Canada and the U.S.
  • The DTP is available to all customers, large or small. Customers can sign up for dedicated trains through one of five auction programs that will be offered over the course of 2017/18
  • Customers who do not qualify for the DTP, or choose not to sign up for the program, can order cars in the Open Distribution program. Open distribution allows shippers to input orders for four weeks, and as orders are filled, new orders can be placed

 Zone Configuration ‭[2]‬

 Content Editor ‭[2]‬



  • Strategically positioned through the heart of the grain producing regions in both Canada and the U.S.
  • Direct access and efficient routes from elevators to terminals at major ports of export
  • High density network of grain elevators, with 191 across the U.S. Midwest and 163 elevators across the Canadian prairies
  • CP is working to expand our entire grain network to include 8500-foot power-on capabilities
 
  • 79 high-throughput elevators capable of loading 100+ car unit trains in less than 24 hours
  • 14 new high-throughput grain elevators being built or recently completed and 60+ potential expansions
  • Over the past few years CP has invested record amounts of private sector capital into capacity-building improvements to meet the expanding needs of our grain customers



 Production facilities

 Content Editor ‭[9]‬

​With access to 12 major canola crush facilities representing 9 million metric tonnes (MMT) of capacity, CP is the top transportation provider for the growing oilseed processing industry in Canada. Our reach extends into the U.S. where we serve an additional 2 MMT of canola crush capacity in North Dakota and Minnesota, as well as soybean crush plants in Iowa.

Our broad network and interline partnerships allow us to provide unparalleled access to dairy and feed markets in California, the northeastern U.S. and the southern U.S. for canola meal, while our interline gateways in the Midwest provide outlets for canola oil to biodiesel facilities and food packaging plants across North America. In addition, about a quarter of the canola oil and a growing share of canola meal originating on our network moves on manifest service to CP-served facilities in Vancouver for export.

CP has access to approximately 1.3B gallons of ethanol on our network.  We transport ethanol safely and reliably from major production areas in the Midwest U.S. to key consumer markets across the Northeast U.S. and Canada.

Click here for a rate or more info

 Zone Configuration ‭[8]‬

 Content Editor ‭[8]‬

​Specialty crops are a growing international market and include lentils, peas, beans and chickpeas. With an expanding world population, pulse and specialty crops will become even more important as consumers become more nutritionally conscious. For the 2016-17 crop year, specialty crops production in Canada was forecasted to be nearly 9 million metric tonnes, a 37% increase over the previous crop year.  

Most of CP's specialty crop volumes are for export - more than 80% move through Vancouver and the rest via Montreal, Thunder Bay, the Pacific Northwest and southern U.S. gateways. We move specialty crops in a variety of ways - intermodal containers, boxcars and covered hoppers. 

Click here for a rate or more info

 Zone Configuration ‭[3]‬

 Content Editor ‭[4]‬

​From our 2017/18 Grain Products & Services guide, our Grain Car Request programs, Canadian and U.S. grain terminal and elevator locations and capacities, to damage prevention and loading guidelines, get the information you need to get your grain moving.


 Zone Configuration ‭[1]‬

 

 

**Supply Chain** performance**Supply Chain** performanceFor the 2016-17 crop-year, CP’s grain movements were consistent with the 2015-16 crop-year and 2 percent above our five-year average./ResponsiveImages/fact-icons/graph.png/en/customer-resources/grain
**Our future** – 8500-foot trains**Our future** – 8500-foot trainsGreater supply chain capacity and efficiency through infrastructure investment and collaboration with our strategic partners./ResponsiveImages/fact-icons/locomotive.png/en/our-markets/grain/supply-chain-capacity-and-efficiency
2017-2018 **Grain service offering**2017-2018 **Grain service offering**CP is well positioned to provide best-in-class service to western Canadian grain shippers during the 2017-2018 crop-year/ResponsiveImages/fact-icons/pie-chart.png/en/customer-resources/shipping-guides/grain

 Zone Configuration ‭[5]‬

 Content Editor ‭[5]‬



Keith Creel on CP’s grain franchise and the competitive low-cost advantage

Watch



John Brooks, CP's Chief Marketing Officer, discusses supply chain capacity and efficiency with some of our strategic partners

Watch

Skip to main content

Transport céréalier

Des trains spécialisés aux employés dédiés, le CP assure depuis plus de 130 ans le transport des céréales jusqu'aux marchés.

Les céréales constituent le plus important secteur d'activité du CP, qui est au service du secteur céréalier depuis plus d'un siècle. Le CP impose le prochain niveau d'efficacité dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement nord-américaine des céréales en proposant des produits et services concurrentiels qui aident nos partenaires à s'imposer sur le marché. Nous visons la croissance de notre secteur céréalier grâce à des projets de développement industriel et à l'amélioration continue de nos services.

Programme de trains spécialisés

Le Programme de trains spécialisés du CP confère à nos clients une plus grande visibilité et mainmise sur les wagons pour gérer leur chaîne d'approvisionnement.

  • Lancé en 2014, le Programme de trains spécialisés est désormais utilisé à plus de 75 % par le secteur céréalier du CP.
  • Le Programme de trains spécialisés du CP répond à la conjoncture dynamique du marché en aidant les clients à s'assurer qu'ils disposent de la capacité nécessaire pour expédier leurs produits sur le marché.
  • Les clients ont la mainmise sur leurs propres trains durant une période de 12 mois.
  • Les clients utilisent la capacité du Programme de trains spécialisés dont ils ont besoin, lorsqu'ils en ont besoin, et ils peuvent se servir des trains au Canada et aux États-Unis.
  • Le Programme de trains spécialisés est proposé à tous les clients, petits ou grands. Les clients peuvent s'inscrire pour des trains spécialisés au moyen de l'un des cinq Programmes de vente aux enchères qui seront offerts au cours de l'exercice 2017-2018
  • Les clients qui ne remplissent pas les conditions requises du Programme de trains spécialisés, ou qui choisissent de ne pas s'inscrire au programme, peuvent commander des wagons dans le Programme de distribution ouverte. La distribution ouverte permet aux expéditeurs d'entrer des commandes pour quatre semaines et, au fur et à mesure que les commandes sont remplies, ils peuvent passer de nouvelles commandes.

Notre réseau céréalier


  • Stratégiquement situé au cœur des régions productrices de céréales, tant au Canada qu'aux États-Unis.
  • Accès direct et chemins efficaces des silos à céréales aux terminaux des grands ports d'exportations.
  • Un réseau haute densité de silos à céréales, fort de 191 silos dans le Midwest des États-Unis et de 163 dans la prairies canadiennes.
  • Le CP travaille à l'élargissement de tout notre réseau céréalier pour y inclure 8 500 pieds de capacités de mise en circuit.
  • Compte 79 silos à haut débit capables de charger des trains-blocs de plus de 100 wagons en moins de 24 heures.
  • Compte 14 nouveaux silos à céréales à haut débit en construction ou terminés récemment et potentiel d'expansion à plus de 60.
  • Au cours des dernières années, le CP a investi des sommes record en capitaux du secteur privé pour améliorer la capacité de ses infrastructures afin de répondre aux besoins croissants de ses clients du secteur céréalier.

Produits céréaliers

Fort d'un accès à 12 installations importantes de trituration du canola représentant 9 millions de tonnes métriques (Mt) de capacité, le CP est le plus grand fournisseur de services de transport pour le secteur du traitement des oléagineux en croissance au Canada. Nous sommes présents aux États-Unis, où nous servons une capacité supplémentaire de 2 Mt de trituration du canola dans le Dakota du Nord et au Minnesota, de même que des usines de trituration du soya en Iowa.

Notre réseau étendu et nos partenariats interréseaux nous permettent de fournir un accès inégalé à des marchés de produits laitiers et alimentaires en Californie ainsi que de tourteau de canola dans le nord-est et le sud des États-Unis, tandis que nos portes d'entrée interréseaux dans le Midwest offrent des débouchés pour l'huile de canola vers les installations de biodiesel et les usines d'emballage d'aliments en Amérique du Nord. De plus, environ le quart de l'huile de canola et une part grandissante du tourteau de canola provenant de notre réseau sont transportés par trains réguliers jusqu'aux installations desservies par le CP à Vancouver aux fins d'exportation.

Le CP a accès à environ 1,3 G de gallons d'éthanol sur notre réseau. Nous transportons de l'éthanol de façon sécuritaire et fiable depuis d'importantes régions de production du Midwest américain vers des marchés de consommation clés du nord-est des États-Unis et au Canada.

Cultures spéciales

Les cultures spéciales représentent un marché international en croissance et comprennent les lentilles, les petits pois, les haricots et les pois chiches. Comme la population mondiale augmente, les cultures de légumineuses et spéciales prendront encore plus d'importance, car les consommateurs deviennent plus conscients sur le plan nutritionnel. Pour la campagne agricole 2017-2018, nous prévoyons que la production de cultures spéciales au Canada atteindra 9 millions de tonnes métriques, une hausse de 37 % par rapport à la campagne agricole précédente.

La majeure partie des volumes de cultures spéciales du CP est destinée à l'exportation – plus de 80 % passent par Vancouver et le reste par Montréal, Thunder Bay ainsi que par les portes d'entrée du nord-ouest bordant le Pacifique et du sud des États-Unis. Nous transportons les cultures spéciales de diverses façons – conteneurs intermodaux, wagons couverts et wagons-trémies.

Vous expédiez des céréales? Voici tout ce que vous devez savoir

De notre guide des produits et services céréaliers pour 2017-2018 et de nos programmes de commande de wagons céréaliers, en passant par les capacités et les emplacements canadiens et américains en matière de terminaux céréaliers, jusqu'à la prévention des avaries et aux lignes directrices sur le chargement, obtenez l'information dont vous avez besoin pour transporter vos céréales.

EN SAVOIR PLUS