Skip to main content

Isabelle Courville​

​​​isabelle-courville.jpg​​​

Chair of the Board*
Rosemère, Quebec

Ms. Courville became Chair of CP's Board of Directors on May 7, 2019 – the first-ever woman to hold this position on the board, as well as the first woman to become chair of the board of a Class 1 railway in North America.

Ms. Courville has been a member of CP's Board since May 1, 2013. From 2016 until becoming Chair of the Board, she was chair of the Management Resources and Compensation Committee. From 2014 to 2016, she chaired the Audit and Finance Committee.

Ms. Courville also sits on the board of directors of SNC-Lavalin Group Inc. where she chairs its Human Resources Committee and is a member of its Governance and Ethics Committee. She serves on the board of Veolia Environnement S.A. as a member of its Accounts and Audit Committee, Nominating Committee and Chair Research, Innovation and Sustainable Development Committee. She is also a board member of the Institute for Governance of Private and Public Organizations as a member of its Human Resources Committee.

In April 2019, Ms. Courville concluded her tenure as chair of the board of directors of the Laurentian Bank of Canada. She has had previous roles on the boards of each of Gecina S.A. and TVA Group. Ms. Courville, an engineer and a lawyer by training, also served as President of Hydro‐Québec Distribution and Hydro‑Québec TransÉnergie. She has over 20 years of experience in the Canadian telecommunications industry, including as President of Bell Canada's Enterprise Group and as President and Chief Executive Officer of Bell Nordiq Group.

Ms. Courville graduated with a degree in Engineering Physics from the École Polytechnique de Montréal and holds a bachelor's degree in Civil Law from McGill University.

Ms. Courville brings to CP a depth of knowledge and expertise from other capital-intensive, heavily regulated industries. Her diverse experiences and unique perspective complement her role as Chair of the Board of Directors. In 2021, Ms. Courville received the Institute of Corporate Directors' Fellowship Designation.

*As Chair of the Board, Ms. Courville is an ex-officio member of each of the Board's committees: the Audit and Finance Committee, the Corporate Governance, Nominating and Social Responsibility Committee, the Management Resources and Compensation Committee and the Risk and Sustainability Committee

Skip to main content

Isabelle Courville​

​​

Présidente du conseil d’administration *
Rosemère (Québec)

Mme Courville est présidente du conseil d'administration du CP depuis le 7 mai 2019. Non seulement est-elle la toute première femme à occuper cette fonction au CP, mais elle est aussi la première femme à présider le conseil d'un chemin de fer de classe 1 en Amérique du Nord.

Mme Courville est membre du conseil d'administration du CP depuis le 1er mai 2013. De 2016 jusqu'à son élection comme présidente du conseil, elle a été présidente du comité de planification des ressources en gestion et de rémunération. De 2014 à 2016, elle a présidé le comité de vérification.

Mme Courville siège également au conseil d'administration du Groupe SNC-Lavalin inc., où elle préside son comité des ressources humaines et est membre de son comité de gouvernance et d'éthique. Elle siège au conseil d'administration de Veolia Environnement S.A. en tant que membre du comité des comptes et de l'audit, du comité des nominations et en tant que présidente du comité de la recherche, de l'innovation et du développement durable. Elle est également membre du conseil d'administration de l'Institut sur la gouvernance d'organisations privées et publiques en tant que membre de son comité des ressources humaines.

En avril 2019, Mme Courville a terminé son mandat de présidente du conseil d'administration de la Banque Laurentienne du Canada. Elle a déjà siégé aux conseils d'administration de Gecina S.A. et de Groupe TVA. Mme Courville, ingénieure et avocate de formation, a également été présidente d'Hydro‐Québec Distribution et d'Hydro‐Québec TransÉnergie. Elle possède plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie canadienne des télécommunications, notamment en tant que présidente du groupe Entreprises de Bell Canada et en tant que présidente et chef de la direction du groupe Bell Nordiq.

Mme Courville est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en génie physique de l'École Polytechnique de Montréal et d'un baccalauréat en droit civil de l'Université McGill.

Mme Courville apporte au CP une connaissance et une expertise approfondies d'autres industries fortement réglementées et à forte intensité de capital. Ses diverses expériences et sa perspective unique complètent son rôle de présidente du conseil d'administration. En 2021, Mme Courville a reçu le titre de Fellow de l'Institut of Corporate Directors.

* À titre de présidente du conseil, Mme Courville est membre d'office de chacun des comités du conseil : le comité d'audit et des finances, le comité de régie d'entreprise, de nomination et de responsabilité sociale, le comité des ressources de direction et de rémunération et le comité des risques et du développement durable.