Skip to main content

The Honourable John R. Baird, P.C.

​​​​​​​​​John R. Baird

Director*
Toronto, Ontario​​​

John Baird is a Senior Advisor to various enterprises and a former Senior Cabinet Minister in the Government of Canada.

An instrumental figure in bilateral trade and investment relationships, Mr. Baird has played a leading role in the Canada-China dialogue and worked to build ties with ASEAN countries. In addition, Mr. Baird has worked closely with international leaders to strengthen security and economic ties with the United States and Middle Eastern countries.

A native of Ottawa, Baird spent three terms as a member of Parliament and four years as Minister of Foreign Affairs. He also served as President of the Treasury Board, Minister of the Environment, Minister of Transport and Infrastructure, and Leader of the Government in the House of Commons. In 2010, he was selected by MPs from all parties as Parliamentarian of the Year. Prior to entering federal politics, Mr. Baird spent ten years in the Ontario Legislature where he served as Minister of Community and Social Services, Minister of Energy, and Government House Leader.

Currently, Mr. Baird serves as a Senior Business Advisor with Bennett Jones LLP, a premier Canadian law firm. In addition, Mr. Baird sits on the advisory board of Barrick Gold Corp. and the corporate boards of Canadian Forest Products (Canfor, as Chair), the FWD Group (former ING Insurance Asia), PineBridge Investments (former AIG Investments), and Osisko Gold Royalties Ltd. He also serves as a Senior Advisor at Eurasia Group, a global political risk consultancy.

Mr. Baird also volunteers his time with Community Living Ontario, an organization that supports individuals with developmental disabilities, the Prince's Charities, the charitable office of His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, and is a board member of the Friends of Israel Initiative. He holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Political Studies and an Honourary Doctor of Laws from Queen's University at Kingston.

*Member of the Corporate Governance, Nominating and Social Responsibility Committee and the Risk and Sustainability Committee.

Skip to main content

L'honorable John R. Baird

​​​​​

Administrateur * 
Toronto (Ontario)

M. Baird est conseiller principal auprès de différentes entreprises et a été un ministre influent du Cabinet au sein du gouvernement du Canada.

Acteur important des relations bilatérales en matière commerciale et en relations d'investissements, M. Baird a joué un rôle de premier plan dans les discussions Canada-Chine et s'est employé à développer des liens avec les pays de l'ANASE. Il a aussi travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des leaders internationaux afin de renforcer la sécurité et les liens économiques avec les États-Unis et les pays du Moyen-Orient.

M. Baird est originaire d'Ottawa et a rempli trois mandats comme député du Parlement à la Chambre des communes, dont quatre ans à titre de ministre des Affaires extérieures. Il a aussi été président du Conseil du Trésor, ministre de l'Environnement, ministre des Transports et de l'Infrastructure et leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes. En 2010, il a été élu Parlementaire de l'année par les députés de tous les partis. Avant son entrée sur la scène politique fédérale, il a été député à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario durant 10 ans. Il a notamment été ministre des Services sociaux et communautaires, ministre de l'Énergie et leader parlementaire du gouvernement.

M. Baird est actuellement conseiller d'affaires principal chez Bennett Jones LLP, un cabinet juridique de premier plan au Canada. De plus, il siège en ce moment au conseil consultatif de Barrick Gold Corp., aux conseils d'entreprise de Produits forestiers du Canada Ltée (Canfor, à titre de président), de FWD Group (anciennement ING Insurance Asia), de PineBridge Investments (anciennement AIG Investments) et de Redevances Aurifères Osisko Ltée. Il agit en outre comme conseiller principal de l'Eurasia Group, un cabinet-conseil sur le risque politique mondial.

M. Baird consacre aussi bénévolement de son temps à Community Living Ontario, une organisation qui vient en aide aux personnes souffrant de troubles du développement, aux Œuvres de bienfaisance du prince, le bureau philanthropique de Son Altesse Royale le prince de Galles, et est membre du conseil de l'Initiative des amis d'Israël. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts avec distinction en Études politiques et un doctorat honorifique en droit de l'Université Queen à Kingston.

* Président du comité de régie d'entreprise, de nomination et de responsabilité sociale et membre du comité des risques et de la durabilité.