Skip to main content

Sustainability at CP

Since 1881, CP has helped connect people, build communities, and provide a vital transportation service to North Americans. Our sustainability practices are rooted in this long standing legacy and support our commitments of driving long-term value creation for all our stakeholders and building for the future. 

read our 2017 Corporate Sustainability Data Supplement here

Economic

CP is committed to providing transportation services and supply chain solutions for businesses across North America, while supporting and investing in the growth of our people and communities along our network. 

2017 Highlights

  • 12,242 people employed (as at December 31)
  • $4.4 billion CP total spending in capital investments and operating expenses (excluding depreciation)
  • 2.6 million CP carloads shipped and 173 million tons of goods transported to businesses and customers across North America

Environment

At CP, we recognize the scope of our potential environmental impacts and we are committed to minimizing the environmental footprint of our rail operations. In recent years we have made significant enhancements to our network, operating practices and locomotive fleet, to dramatically improve the efficiency of our operations. Implementation of precision scheduled railroading, investments in refurbished locomotives, integration of fuel use best practices, and upgraded infrastructure and technology, have helped CP improve fuel efficiency by approximately 15 percent since 2012.

2017 Highlights

  • Approximately 748,000 scrap rail ties sent as alternative fuel source to power generation facilities for energy recovery
  • Achieved a 16 percent reduction in greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions between 2012 and 2017
  • CP continues to be a voluntary and active participant in the Memorandum of Understanding on Locomotive Emissions Monitoring in Canada

Safety

The safety and security of our people and the communities in which we operate is important to us. We are North America's safest Class 1 railroad with the lowest Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) reportable train accident frequency for the past 12 years.  Safety is ingrained in every aspect of our culture and we continually seek to improve our safety practices and raise the bar on rail safety.

2017 Highlights

  • 48 CP Operations staff received Incident Command System training at the industry-leading Security and Emergency Response Training Center in Pueblo, Colorado
  • Achieved 45 percent improvement in FRA train accident frequency per million train-miles between 2013 and 2017

Social

People are at the center of everything we do: the goods we transport, the jobs we create and the communities in which we operate. As a responsible operator, we value the opinions and perspectives of all our stakeholders and are committed to collaboration, two-way dialogue and building mutually beneficial relationships. Through open communication, we work to address local issues of importance and to create positive, lasting socio-economic impacts. As a company, we pride ourselves on fostering a high-performance culture rooted in respect and inclusion, to create an environment where all of our employees can thrive personally and professionally. 

2017 Highlights

  • The CP Holiday Train program raised $1.5 million and 300,000 pounds of food in support of foodbanks across the CP network
  • Hosted 11 work experiences for new immigrants, through our Immigrant Work Experience program
  • Continued positive outreach and relationship building with over 100 organizations across Canada and the U.S., that support diversity and inclusion within their pool of candidates

Learn more

For more on how CP plays a positive role in strengthening North America’s economic, social and environmental well-being, read our Corporate Sustainability reports below:




 Zone Configuration

 Tab Switcher

 Current Reports

2017 Corporate Sustainability Data Supplement

2017 Corporate Sustainability Data Supplement

2016 Corporate Sustainability Report

 Recognition

CP recognized as a leader for climate change transparency

CP has earned its position on the index by disclosing high quality carbon emissions and energy data through the Carbon Discloure Project's (CDP) climate change program. The reported data has been independently assessed against CDP's scoring methodology and marked out of 10​0.

Organizations graded within the top 10% constitute the CDLI. CP scored 98 in 2015 -- in 2014 the company was also listed on the CDLI with a score of 95.



read th​e National Newswatch op-ed on h​ow rail can help a growing econom​y lower emissions

 Past reports

Skip to main content

La responsabilité sociale au CP

​​​​Depuis 1881, le CP aide à relier les gens, à bâtir des collectivités et à assurer un service de transport essentiel aux Nord-américains. Nos pratiques de responsabilité sociale sont enracinées dans cette tradition de longue date. Elles appuient nos intentions de stimuler la création de valeurs à long terme pour nos actionnaires et de construire pour l'avenir. 

Consultez notre document 2017 Corporate Sustainability Data Supplement

Économie

La mission du CP est d'offrir des services de transport de marchandises et des solutions de gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement aux entreprises en Amérique du Nord, ainsi que de favoriser la croissance de son personnel et des collectivités qui bordent son réseau et d'y contribuer.  

Faits saillants de 2017

  • Effectif de 12 242 employés (au 31 décembre).
  • Dépenses en immobilisations et en exploitation de 4,4 milliards de dollars (sans la dépréciation)
  • 2,6 millions de wagons CP acheminés et 173 millions de tonnes de marchandises livrées à des entreprises et à des clients partout en Amérique du Nord

Environnement

Au CP, nous reconnaissons la portée de nos impacts possibles sur l'environnement et sommes résolus à atténuer l'empreinte environnementale de nos activités ferroviaires. Au cours des dernières années, nous avons apporté des améliorations notables à notre réseau, à nos méthodes d'exploitation et à notre parc de locomotives afin d'augmenter considérablement l'efficacité de notre entreprise. La mise en place d'une exploitation ferroviaire précise à horaires réguliers, les investissements dans des locomotives remises à neuf, l'adoption de pratiques de consommation de carburant exemplaires et la modernisation de l'infrastructure et de la technologique ont permis au CP d'améliorer d'environ 15 % ses économies de carburant depuis 2012. 

Faits saillants de 2017

  • Environ 748 000 traverses de rebut ont été envoyées à des centrales énergétiques pour servir de source d'énergie de rechange.
  • Réduction de 16 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre entre 2012 et 2017.
  • Amélioration de 15 % des économies de carburant depuis 2012.
  • Le CP continue de participer activement et de son plein gré au Protocole d'entente (PE) sur la surveillance des émissions des locomotives (SEL) au Canada.

La sécurité

La sûreté et la sécurité de nos employés et des collectivités où nous exerçons nos activités sont importantes pour nous. Depuis 12 ans, le CP est le chemin de fer nord-américain de classe 1 qui présente la plus faible fréquence d'accidents ferroviaires établie par la Federal Railroad Administration (FRA). La sécurité fait partie intégrante de notre culture et nous cherchons toujours à parfaire nos pratiques de sécurité et à rehausser la sécurité du transport ferroviaire.

Faits saillants de 2017

  • Quarante-huit (48) employés des Services de l'exploitation du CP ont reçu une formation sur le système de commandement en cas d'incident au centre de formation de premier ordre du secteur, le Security and Emergency Response Training Center à Pueblo, au Colorado.
  • Amélioration de 45 % de la fréquence des accidents ferroviaires à signaler à la FRA par millions de trains-miles entre 2013 et 2017.
  • Présentation du programme Sain et sauf du CP à 8000 employés à l'échelle de notre réseau.

Aspects sociaux

Les personnes sont au centre de tout ce que nous faisons : les marchandises que nous transportons, les emplois que nous créons et les collectivités dans lesquelles nous exerçons nos activités. À titre d'exploitant responsable, nous tenons compte de l'opinion et du point de vue de tous nos actionnaires et cherchons sans cesse à collaborer, à ouvrir le dialogue et à établir des relations mutuellement profitables. En communiquant ouvertement, nous nous efforçons de régler les enjeux locaux importants et de créer des effets socioéconomiques positifs et durables. En tant qu'entreprise, nous sommes fiers de favoriser une culture de haut rendement, fondée sur le respect et l'inclusion, afin de créer un environnement dans lequel tous nos employés peuvent grandir personnellement et professionnellement. 

Faits saillants de 2017

  • Le programme du Train des fêtes du CP a permis d'amasser 1,5 million de dollars et 300 000 livres de denrées pour des banques alimentaires dans tout le réseau du CP.
  • Le CP a investi 50 000 $ en commandites pour financer les Jeux mondiaux des Nations autochtones sur le territoire du traité n° 6 en Alberta, au Canada.
  • Le CP a accueilli 11 immigrants dans le cadre de son programme d'expérience de travail pour les immigrants.
  • Il ne cesse de communiquer activement et de nouer des relations avec plus de 100 organismes, partout au Canada et aux États-Unis, qui appuient la diversité et l'inclusion dans leur bassin de candidats.

En savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur le rôle positif que joue le CP dans l'amélioration du bien-être économique, social et environnemental en Amérique du Nord, consultez nos rapports sur la responsabilité sociale ci-dessous.

Le CP est désigné numéro un pour sa transparence dans la lutte contre le changement climatique.

Le CP a gagné cette position dans l'indice en divulguant de l'information de grande qualité sur ses émissions de gaz carbonique et sa consommation énergétique en vertu du programme sur les changements climatiques du Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP). Les informations transmises ont été l'objet d'une évaluation indépendante suivant une méthodologie élaborée par le CDP et notées sur cent.

Les organisations qui obtiennent 90 % et plus composent l'indice CDLI (Climate Disclosure Leadership Index). Le CP a obtenu 98 en 2015. Le CP a aussi figuré à l'indice CDLI en 2014 avec un résultat de 95.

2016

Archiver

Rapport sur la respon​sabilité sociale 2014​3.20Mb, anglais


Rapport sur la respon​sabilité social​e 20132.45Mb, anglais


Rapport de responsabilité sociale 20095.1Mb, anglais