Skip to main content

Rory Thompson, Manager of Veteran Relations

Born and raised in Scotland, Rory Thompson spent 11 years as a British Army Officer. During his term, he served as a Captain in the prestigious Parachute Regiment, worked for a British Intelligence Agency and was deployed to over 15 countries.  After spending over two years in Canada as an Operations Officer at the British Army's largest training establishment in Suffield, AB, he decided he wanted to emigrate and settle into civilian life.  

After his transition out of the military he quickly found a job at CP applying his technical knowledge and extensive leadership skills as a Manager in the Signals and Communications Department.  After identifying many parallels and synergies between the military and the railroad, Rory found himself recruiting many of his veteran colleagues to CP. 

Rory was recognized for his efforts assisting the veteran community transition to careers at CP and was promoted to Manager of Veteran Relations. In this role, he is responsible for recruiting and retaining veterans at CP. 

Connect with Rory to discover the variety of opportunities at CP by emailing him at Employment_Centre@cpr.ca

Skip to main content

Rory Thompson, chef, Relations avec les vétérans

Rory Thompson est né et a grandi en Écosse et a été un officier de l'armée britannique durant 11 ans. Au cours de sa carrière militaire, il a été capitaine au sein du prestigieux Régiment parachutiste, il a travaillé pour un service de renseignement britannique et a fait des missions dans plus de 15 pays. Après avoir été officier des opérations durant plus de deux ans pour le plus important établissement d'instruction de l'armée britannique à Suffield, en Alberta, il a décidé d'immigrer au Canada et de passer de la vie militaire à la vie civile.

Après son départ de l'armée, il a rapidement trouvé un emploi au CP à titre de chef, Signalisation et communications, un poste qui lui permet de mettre en application ses connaissances techniques et d'afficher ses grandes qualités de chef. Ayant découvert de nombreux parallèles et synergies entre les secteurs militaire et ferroviaire, Rory s'est mis à recruter bon nombre de ses collègues vétérans pour le CP.

Le CP a reconnu le grand soutien que Rory apportait aux vétérans qui passaient d'une carrière militaire à une carrière au CP et l'a promu au poste de chef, Relations avec les vétérans. Il est responsable du recrutement et du maintien en poste des vétérans au CP.

Communiquez avec Rory pour découvrir l'éventail de postes offerts au CP. Vous pouvez le joindre par courriel à l'adresse TalentAcquisition@cpr.ca