Skip to main content

Scott MacDonald, Senior Vice-President Operations (System)

Born in Kitchener, Ontario, Scott MacDonald enrolled in the Royal Military College specializing in Mechanical Engineering. He was deployed across Canada for many years until his specialization turned towards the Air Force and Aerospace Engineering.

Retiring as a Captain in 1997 after being the lead authority for the CF-18 F404 engine program, he transitioned from aircraft repair to locomotive repair at GE Transportation Systems. Applying his post-secondary knowledge gained in the military (BSc in Mechanical Engineering (with honors), MSc in Thermal Power) with his leadership and technical skills enabled his specialization to deepen, which led him to a career at CP as Director of Locomotive Maintenance.

In his 15 years since coming to CP, Scott has held seven roles, all with increased leadership accountabilities. Now as a Senior Vice-President of Operations (System), he reports directly to CP’s Executive Vice-President of Operations.

He attributes his success at CP to his early military career where he was trained to have an intense focus on the next mission, the ability to adapt to changing circumstances, teamwork, dedication and flexibility. He still recalls that his first year transitioning out of the military was difficult and recommends being open about concerns and anxieties across support systems to successfully adapt to a civilian career.

Skip to main content

Scott MacDonald, vice-président principal, Exploitation (systèmes)

Scott MacDonaldNé à Kitchener, en Ontario, Scott MacDonald a étudié le génie mécanique au Collège militaire royal. Cela l'a amené d'une région à l'autre du Canada pendant plusieurs années, jusqu'à ce qu'il s'oriente vers le génie aérospatial et les Forces aériennes. 

En quittant les Forces en 1997 avec le grade de capitaine, après avoir été la principale autorité du programme de moteurs F404 des avions CF-18, il est passé de la réparation des avions à celle des locomotives chez GE Transportation Systems. Ses études postsecondaires dans les Forces (baccalauréat en génie mécanique [avec distinction] et maîtrise en énergie thermique), ses qualités de meneur et ses compétences techniques lui ont permis de se spécialiser davantage, puis d'entreprendre une carrière au CP en tant que directeur, Maintenance des locomotives. 

En 15 ans au CP, Scott a occupé sept postes différents et gravi les échelons de direction. Dans son poste actuel de vice-président principal, Exploitation, il relève directement du vice-président exécutif, Exploitation. 

Il attribue sa réussite au CP à ses acquis gagnés au cours de sa carrière militaire : la capacité de se concentrer intensément sur la prochaine mission et de s'adapter à des circonstances changeantes; l'esprit d'équipe; le dévouement; la souplesse. Il se souvient avoir trouvé pénible la première année après son départ des Forces armées. Il recommande d'utiliser les systèmes de soutien pour parler ouvertement de ses préoccupations et craintes afin de réussir à s'adapter à une carrière civile.