Skip to main content

Diversity in the workforce

​​​​​​

​When you work with us, you join a team of railroaders from all walks of life with all kinds of skills. We value that.​​​

Having a skilled and diverse workforce is a longstanding goal at CP as we cultivate the best team of railroaders in the industry. To support our vision, we continue to implement programs and initiatives that include work experience programs for immigrants, sponsorships and partnerships with historically black schools and Indigenous-based groups, and accommodating applicants and employees with disabilities.

Promoting Women in the Workplace

  • we provide an annual financial award to a well-deserving woman in the SAIT Railway Conductor program
  • CP's board is comprised of 40% women and is a member of the 30% Club -- a leading international organization committed to better gender representation
  • as a founding member of the Canadian Board Diversity Council, CP offers women at the director level the opportunity to attend the "Get on Board" governance education program
  • CP is a corporate member of the Women's Executive Network which supports, develops and retains women in professional and management positions

League of Railway Women

CP is a Platinum member of the League of Railway Women, an organization committed to improving the railroad industry by connecting women in rail.

Immigrant Work Experience programs

2019 Diversity Outreach StrategyCP has a long-standing relationship with several associations and organizations that attract, recruit and support skilled immigrants. Partnerships including the Centre for Newcomers and the Bow Valley College Corporate Readiness Program provide a win-win opportunity -- new Canadians gain work experience and our employees build their cross-cultural skills and awareness.

Indigenous Relations

As governments continue to reconcile past decisions to build a more positive present and future with Indigenous communities, CP continues to collaborate with Indigenous groups to better understand their cultures, and develop more meaningful relationships.

We partner with organizations such as Aboriginal Link, Community Futures, Rupertsland Institute,  and Winnipeg's Canadian Aboriginal Human Resources Association to build positive relationships and to create targeted outreach programs and employment opportunities.

In February, 2019, CP supported the Soaring: Indigenous Youth Empowerment  Gathering in Calgary, AB to help build brighter futures for Indigenous students. The Calgary Soaring was attended by over 760 Indigenous students and their chaperones. Read the report here.

Legal Leaders for Diversity Legal-Leaders-for-Diversity_Logo.png

CP Is a member of Legal Leaders for Diversity, a group of Canadian General Counsel who have declared their support and commitment for creating a more inclusive legal profession as well as supporting diversity initiatives within their organizations.

Kids & Company Kids & Company

Corporate Member of Kids & Company offers employees access to high quality eldercare, childcare and back-up care.

Learn more

To find out more about how CP is working to develop an environment where our employees can reach their full potential both personally and professionally, read our 2016 Corporate Sustainability Report.

Work with us

We pride ourselves in offering a large variety of careers that emphasize precision, passion, strength, genuineness and accountability. Find your railroader career and help us keep things moving.

Search for openings

Skip to main content

Diversité de l’effectif

​​​​​​​​

​À titre d'employé du CP, vous êtes membre d'une équipe de cheminots qui proviennent de divers milieux et qui possèdent des compétences variées. C'est pour nous un atout.

Avoir un effectif compétent et diversifié est un objectif de longue date du CP et nous sommes fiers de pouvoir compter sur la meilleure équipe de cheminots du secteur. Pour appuyer notre vision, nous continuons à mettre en place des programmes et initiatives, comme notre programme d'expérience de travail pour les immigrants et nos programmes de partenariat et de parrainage avec des écoles où la majorité des étudiants sont noirs ainsi qu'avec des communautés autochtones. Nous mettons également en place des mesures d'adaptation pour les postulants et comptons des employés handicapés dans notre effectif.

Rayonnement des femmes dans le milieu de travail

  • Tous les ans, nous remettons une récompense en argent à une femme méritante dans le cadre du programme des chefs de train du Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)
  • Le Conseil d'administration du CP compte 40 % de femmes et fait partie du 30% Club, une organisation de premier plan à l'échelle internationale dont la mission est d'assurer une représentation plus équilibrée des femmes et des hommes
  • À titre de membre fondateur du Canadian Board Diversity Council, le CP offre aux femmes qui occupent des postes au sein de sa direction l'occasion de participer au programme de formation sur la gouvernance « Get on Board »
  • Le CP est membre du Réseau des femmes exécutives (WXN) qui offre des programmes de soutien et de perfectionnement qui visent à favoriser la présence des femmes à des postes de professionnel et de direction

League of Railway Women

Le CP est un membre platine de la League of Railway Women, une organisation dont la mission est de cultiver la présence des femmes dans le secteur ferroviaire.

Programme d'expérience de travail pour les immigrants

Le CP entretient depuis longtemps des relations avec de nombreuses associations et organisations qui attirent, recrutent et appuient les immigrants compétents. Ces partenariats, notamment ceux avec le Centre for Newcomers et le Bow Valley College Corporate Readiness Program, sont avantageux pour tous puisque les Néo-Canadiens acquièrent de l'expérience de travail et que nos employés apprennent à mieux connaître d'autres cultures.

Relations avec les Autochtones

Alors que le gouvernement revient sur certaines décisions du passé et s'emploie à bâtir un présent et un avenir plus prometteurs pour les communautés autochtones, le CP continue de collaborer avec des groupes autochtones afin de mieux comprendre leur culture et de tisser des liens plus étroits.

Le CP est un partenaire de nombreux programmes et organismes qui favorisent l'intégration des Autochtones, notamment Aboriginal Link, Le Réseau de développement des collectivités du Canada, le Rupertsland Institute et la Canadian Aboriginal Human Resources Association de Winnipeg afin de cultiver des relations positives et de proposer des programmes de sensibilisation et des emplois qui conviennent aux Autochtones.

Legal Leaders for Diversity

Le CP est membre du groupe Legal Leaders for Diversity, un groupe du Canadian General Counsel qui a pris l'engagement de favoriser la diversité dans le secteur juridique et qui appuie des initiatives visant à favoriser la diversité au sein de leurs organisations.

En savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la manière dont le CP crée un environnement où les employés peuvent réaliser leur plein potentiel professionnel et personnel, consultez notre Rapport sur la responsabilité sociale 2016.

Posez votre candidature

Nous sommes fiers de proposer un large éventail de postes qui sont associés à des pratiques de travail simples, fiables et responsables. Trouvez la carrière qui vous convient et aidez-nous à assurer les transports de marchandises.

Recherche de possibilités d'emploi