Skip to main content

CP completes Central Maine & Quebec Railway acquisition

​Canadian Pacific (TSX: CP) (NYSE: CP) has closed the transaction related to the acquisition of the Central Maine & Quebec Railway ("CMQ"). The acquisition of CMQ in the U.S. remains subject to Surface Transportation Board approval.

The acquisition, first announced on November 20, 2019, will provide CP customers with seamless, safe and efficient access to ports at Searsport, Maine and to Saint John, New Brunswick, via Eastern Maine Railway Company (EMRY) and New Brunswick Southern Railway (NBSR), thereby preserving and enhancing competition.

Note on forward-looking information

This news release contains certain forward-looking information and forward-looking statements (collectively, "forward-looking information") within the meaning of applicable securities laws. This news release contains forward-looking information relating, but not limited to, the success of our business and operations, anticipated operational performance, and the anticipated success of the CMQ transaction, and its anticipated effect on CP and its customers.

The forward-looking information contained in this news release is based on CP management's current expectations, estimates, projections and assumptions, and CP having regard to CP's experience and its perception of historical trends, and includes, but is not limited to, expectations, estimates, projections and assumptions relating to: performance of CP's assets and equipment, including the successful integration of CMQ; and applicable laws, regulations and government policies;. Although CP  believes the expectations, estimates, projections and assumptions reflected in the forward-looking information presented herein are reasonable as of the date hereof, there can be no assurance that they will prove to be correct.

Undue reliance should not be placed on forward-looking information as actual results may differ materially from those expressed or implied by forward-looking information. By its nature, CP's forward-looking information involves inherent risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from the forward looking information, including, but not limited to, the following factors: risks associated with the integration of CMQ; changes in laws, regulations and government policies; risks and liabilities arising from derailments; transportation of dangerous goods; climate change; and various events that could disrupt operations, including severe weather, such as droughts, floods, avalanches and earthquakes, and cybersecurity attacks, as well as security threats and governmental response to them, and technological changes. The foregoing list of factors is not exhaustive. These and other factors are detailed from time to time in reports filed by CP with securities regulators in Canada and filed by CP in the United States, including with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Reference should be made to "Risk Factors" and "Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations - Forward-Looking Information" in CP's  annual and interim reports on Form 10-K and 10-Q.

The forward-looking information contained in this news release is made as of the date hereof. Except as required by law, CP  undertakes no obligation to update publicly or otherwise revise any forward-looking information, or the foregoing assumptions and risks affecting such forward-looking information, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

About Canadian Pacific

Canadian Pacific is a transcontinental railway in Canada and the United States with direct links to major ports on the west and east coasts. CP provides North American customers a competitive rail service with access to key markets in every corner of the globe. CP is growing with its customers, offering a suite of freight transportation services, logistics solutions and supply chain expertise. Visit cpr.ca to see the rail advantages of CP. CP-IR


 Media

Jeremy Berry
403-319-6227
Alert_MediaRelations@cpr.ca

 Investment Community

Maeghan Albiston
403-319-3591
investor@cpr.ca



See all news

Skip to main content

Le Canadien Pacifique conclut l’acquisition des Chemins de fer du Centre du Maine et du Québec

​Le Canadien Pacifique (TSX : CP) (NYSE : CP) a conclu la transaction relative à l'acquisition des Chemins de fer du Centre du Maine et du Québec (« CMQ »). L'acquisition de CMQ aux États-Unis demeure assujettie à l'approbation du Surface Transportation Board.

L'acquisition, initialement annoncée le 20 novembre 2019, fournira aux clients du CP un accès continu, sécuritaire et efficace aux ports de Searsport (Maine) et de Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick) par l'entremise de la Eastern Maine Railway Company (EMRY) et du Chemin de fer du sud du Nouveau-Brunswick (NBSR), préservant et renforçant ainsi la concurrence.

Note relative à l'information prospective

Le présent communiqué de presse contient certaines informations et déclarations prospectives (collectivement, l' « information prospective ») au sens des lois sur les valeurs mobilières applicables. Le présent communiqué de presse contient des informations prospectives qui, sans s'y limiter, portent sur le succès de notre entreprise, et nos activités, nos prévisions quant à nos résultats opérationnels et la réussite anticipée de la transaction CMQ, ainsi que les effets anticipés sur le CP et ses clients.

L'information prospective contenue dans le présent communiqué de presse est fondée sur les attentes, les estimés, les projections et les hypothèses actuelles de CP, et sur l'expérience et la perception des tendances historiques de CP, et comprend, sans s'y limiter, les attentes, les estimés, les projections et les hypothèses relatives au rendement des actifs de CP et de ses équipements, incluant la réussite de l'intégration du CMQ; et les lois, les règlements et les politiques gouvernementales applicables. Bien que CP estime que les attentes, les estimations, les projections et les hypothèses sur lesquelles repose l'information prospective contenue aux présentes sont raisonnables en date des présentes, il ne peut être garanti qu'elles s'avéreront exactes.

Le lecteur est invité à ne pas se fier indûment sur l'information prospective parce que les résultats réels pourraient varier de façon importante de ceux indiqués ou présumés dans l'information prospective. De par sa nature, l'information prospective fournie par le CP comprend certains risques et éléments incertains qui pourraient faire en sorte que les résultats réels diffèrent considérablement de l'information prospective. Les facteurs qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur l'information prospective comprennent, sans s'y limiter, l'intégration du CMQ; les modifications aux lois, règlements et politiques du gouvernement; les risques et obligations résultant de déraillements; le transport de marchandises; les changements climatiques; et les événements divers susceptibles de perturber l'exploitation, y compris les intempéries, comme les sécheresses, les inondations, les avalanches, les tremblements de terre, ainsi que les attaques à la cybersécurité, les menaces pour la sécurité et la façon dont les pouvoirs publics y réagissent, de même que les changements d'ordre technologique. La liste de facteurs qui précède n'est pas exhaustive. Ces facteurs et d'autres facteurs sont décrits de temps à autre de façon détaillée dans des rapports déposés par le CP auprès des organismes de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada et par CP aux États-Unis, y incluant auprès de la Securities and Exchange Commission. Il y a lieu de se reporter à la rubrique « Facteurs de risque » et au « Analyse par la direction de la situation financière et rapport de gestion – Information prospective » des rapports annuels et intermédiaires du CP sur formulaire 10-K et 10-Q.

L'information prospective contenue dans le présent communiqué est présentée en date des présentes. Le CP ne s'engage nullement à mettre à jour publiquement ou à réviser d'une autre façon l'information prospective ou les hypothèses et risques précédents qui ont une incidence sur cette information par suite de données nouvelles, d'événements futurs ou d'autres éléments, sauf s'il y sont tenus par la Loi.

À propos du Canadien Pacifique

Canadien Pacifique est un réseau ferroviaire transcontinental au Canada et aux États-Unis qui compte des liaisons directes avec des ports importants sur les côtes Ouest et Est. Le CP fournit aux clients en Amérique du Nord un service ferroviaire concurrentiel avec un accès aux principaux marchés dans tous les coins du globe. Le CP croît avec ses clients, offrant un éventail de services de transport de marchandises, de solutions de logistique et une expertise en chaîne d'approvisionnement. Consultez le cpr.ca pour voir quels sont les avantages ferroviaires du CP. CP-IR

 Médias

Jeremy Berry
403-319-6227
Alert_MediaRelations@cpr.ca

 Relation avec les investisseurs

Maeghan Albiston
403-319-3591
investor@cpr.ca

Voir toutes les nouvelles