Skip to main content

CP extending its reach with new Montreal multi-commodity transportation and distribution terminal; TYT Group to operate it

Canadian Pacific (TSX: CP) (NYSE: CP) is leveraging its unique real estate holdings in establishing a new multi-commodity transload terminal that offers transportation and distribution services from CP's existing and strategically located Côte Saint-Luc yard in Montreal.

In close collaboration with TYT Group, a proven Quebec-based freight transportation service provider, the transload terminal will offer reliable multi-commodity transload services and logistics solutions to customers in key urban centres along the east coast, helping further extend CP's reach to markets not directly served by rail.

"We continue to leverage our strategic land holdings and invest in transloads across the network to create additional connections, improve service and provide our customers with new end markets," said John Brooks, CP Executive Vice-President and Chief Marketing Officer. "With a great supply chain enabler like TYT Group, this project enhances our footprint in the Montreal area by building capacity and expanding our ability to provide customers with value beyond rail, through trucking and transload services."

The terminal will be built by Canadian Pacific in multiple phases and operated by TYT. The first phase is the construction, by CP, of a new 118,000 square foot rail-served facility that is designed to assist in the receiving, unloading, carrying and delivery of rail traffic. Phase 1 is currently scheduled to be completed in June 2020. The facility is surrounded by more than 4,000 feet of existing and adjacent track, making this location ideal for indoor or outdoor transloading operations that are necessary to serve CP's customers. The facility's interior incorporates track infrastructure sufficient to accommodate over 18 railcars, thereby protecting customers' products from the elements year-round. All facility features will be built so they can be expanded for future growth.

CP is considering other opportunities for the balance of its Côte Saint-Luc yard. With easy access to highways 20, 13, 40 and 520 and close proximity to the Port of Montreal, the yard and terminal are strategically positioned to create supply chain efficiencies for CP and customers by allowing for faster, flexible and more reliable service.

"Group TYT is proud to collaborate with CP to bring this unique project to Montreal," said Patrick Turcotte, President and CEO of TYT Group. "Strategically located inside CP's Côte Saint-Luc yard, this multi-commodity transload will offer customers better optionality and more consistent service overall. Our agreement with CP is built on service, reliability and trust and we look forward to working together to provide long-term value to our customers."

Note on Forward-Looking Information

This news release contains certain forward-looking information and forward-looking statements (collectively, "forward-looking information") within the meaning of applicable securities laws. Forward-looking information includes, but is not limited to, statements concerning expectations, beliefs, plans, goals, objectives, assumptions and statements about possible future events, conditions, and results of operations or performance. Forward-looking information may contain statements with words or headings such as "financial expectations", "key assumptions", "anticipate", "believe", "expect", "plan", "will", "outlook", "should" or similar words suggesting future outcomes. This news release contains forward-looking information relating, but not limited to, the success of our business, our operations, priorities and plans, and anticipated financial and operational performance, including with respect to our ability to grow our transload business unit.

The forward-looking information contained in this news release is based on current expectations, estimates, projections and assumptions, having regard to CP's experience and its perception of historical trends, and includes, but is not limited to, expectations, estimates, projections and assumptions relating to: foreign exchange rates, effective tax rates, land sales and pension income; North American and global economic growth; commodity demand growth; sustainable industrial and agricultural production; commodity prices and interest rates; performance of our assets and equipment; sufficiency of our budgeted capital expenditures in carrying out our business plan; our ability to complete our capital and maintenance projects, including completion of the proposed transload terminal on the timelines anticipated; applicable laws, regulations and government policies; the availability and cost of labour, services and infrastructure; market demand for CP's services; our ability to maintain our relationships with key third parties; and the satisfaction by third parties of their obligations to CP. Although CP believes the expectations, estimates, projections and assumptions reflected in the forward-looking information presented herein are reasonable as of the date hereof, there can be no assurance that they will prove to be correct.

Undue reliance should not be placed on forward-looking information as actual results may differ materially from those expressed or implied by forward-looking information. By its nature, CP's forward-looking information involves inherent risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from the forward looking information, including, but not limited to, the following factors: changes in business strategies; general North American and global economic, credit and business conditions; risks associated with agricultural production, such as weather conditions and insect populations; the availability and price of energy commodities; the effects of competition and pricing pressures; industry capacity; shifts in market demand; changes in commodity prices; uncertainty surrounding timing and volumes of commodities being shipped via CP; inflation; geopolitical instability; changes in laws, regulations and government policies, including regulation of rates; changes in taxes and tax rates; potential increases in maintenance and operating costs; changes in fuel prices; uncertainties of investigations, proceedings or other types of claims and litigation; labour disputes; risks and liabilities arising from derailments; transportation of dangerous goods; timing of completion of capital and maintenance projects; currency and interest rate fluctuations; effects of changes in market conditions and discount rates on the financial position of pension plans and investments; trade restrictions or other changes to international trade arrangements; climate change; and various events that could disrupt operations, including severe weather, such as droughts, floods, avalanches and earthquakes, and cybersecurity attacks, as well as security threats and governmental response to them, and technological changes. The foregoing list of factors is not exhaustive. These and other factors are detailed from time to time in reports filed by CP with securities regulators in Canada and the United States. Reference should be made to "Risk Factors" and "Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations - Forward-Looking Information" in CP's annual and interim reports on Form 10-K and 10-Q.

The forward-looking information contained in this news release is made as of the date hereof. Except as required by law, CP undertakes no obligation to update publicly or otherwise revise any forward-looking information, or the foregoing assumptions and risks affecting such forward-looking information, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.


 Media

Jeremy Berry
403-319-6227
Alert_MediaRelations@cpr.ca 

 Investment Community

​Maeghan Albiston
403-319-3591
investor@cpr.ca


See all news

Skip to main content

Le CP élargit sa portée grâce à un nouveau terminal de transport et de distribution de marchandises plurisectoriel à Montréal, exploité par le Groupe TYT

​Le Canadien Pacifique (TSX : CP) (NYSE : CP) tire profit de ses terrains d'exception existants et avantageusement situés de la gare de triage Côte-Saint-Luc à Montréal en y construisant un nouveau terminal de transbordement de marchandises plurisectoriel qui assurera des services de transport et de distribution.

En étroite collaboration avec le Groupe TYT, une société de transport de marchandises québécoise bien établie, le terminal de transbordement offrira des services de transbordement de marchandises plurisectoriel et de solutions logistiques fiables aux clients des grands centres urbains de la côte est, permettant ainsi au CP d'atteindre des marchés qui ne sont pas directement desservis par le chemin de fer.

John Brooks, vice-président exécutif et chef du marketing du CP affirme : « Nous continuons de tirer profit de nos terrains stratégiques et d'investir dans le transbordement dans tout le réseau pour créer des liaisons, améliorer le service et offrir à nos clients de nouveaux utilisateurs finaux. Avec un instrument clé de la chaîne d'approvisionnement comme le Groupe TYT, ce projet solidifie nos racines dans l'agglomération de Montréal en augmentant notre capacité et nos moyens d'offrir à nos clients des solutions au-delà du rail, par des services de camionnage et de transbordement. »

Le Canadien Pacifique entend construire le terminal en plusieurs étapes et confier les rênes de l'exploitation à TYT. La première étape sera celle de la construction, par le CP, d'une nouvelle installation desservie par rail de 118 000 pieds carrés qui contribuera à la réception, au déchargement, au transport et à la livraison des marchandises transportées par rail. L'achèvement de la phase 1 est actuellement prévu pour juin 2020. L'installation est entourée de plus de 4000 pieds de voies déjà en place et adjacentes. Son emplacement est donc idéal pour les activités de transbordement à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur nécessaires pour servir les clients du CP. À l'intérieur, il y a suffisamment de voies pour recevoir plus de 18 wagons, protégeant ainsi les produits des clients des éléments climatiques saisonniers. Toutes les infrastructures de l'installation pourront être agrandies pour répondre à une croissance future.

Le CP étudie d'autres projets pour le reste de sa gare de triage de Côte-Saint-Luc. Avec la facilité d'accès aux autoroutes 20, 13, 40 et 520 et la proximité du port de Montréal, la gare de triage et le terminal ne peuvent être mieux situés pour réaliser des gains d'efficacité dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement tant pour le CP que pour ses clients en favorisant un service plus rapide, plus souple et plus fiable.

Patrick Turcotte, président et chef de la direction du Groupe TYT commente : « Le Groupe TYT est fier de collaborer avec le CP pour monter ce projet exceptionnel à Montréal. Grâce à la situation stratégique de ce terminal de transbordement de marchandises plurisectoriel dans la gare de triage de Côte-Saint-Luc, les clients profiteront de plus d'options et d'un service global plus cohérent. Notre entente avec le CP est fondée sur le service, la fiabilité et la confiance. Nous avons hâte de travailler ensemble pour offrir une valeur à long terme à nos clients. »

Note sur les énoncés prévisionnels

Ce communiqué de presse contient certains renseignements de nature prospective et certains énoncés prévisionnels (collectivement, « énoncé prévisionnel ») au sens des lois sur les valeurs mobilières applicables. Un énoncé prévisionnel peut comporter, sans s'y limiter, des déclarations sur des attentes, des croyances, des projets, des buts, des objectifs des hypothèses et des énoncés au sujet d'événements futurs, de conditions et de résultats d'activités ou de performance possibles. Un énoncé prévisionnel peut contenir des énoncés utilisant des termes ou des en-têtes comme « attentes financières », « principales hypothèses », « anticiper », « croire », « s'attendre à », « prévoir », « vont », « perspectives », « devraient » ou autres mots similaires qui suggèrent des résultats futurs. Ce communiqué de presse contient des énoncés prévisionnels qui concernent, entre autres, le succès de nos activités commerciales, de nos opérations, de nos priorités et plans, et de notre rendement financier et opérationnel, incluant en vertu de notre capacité à prospérer, notre unité d'exploitation de transbordement.

Les énoncés prévisionnels contenus dans ce communiqué de presse sont fondés sur nos attentes, évaluations, prévisions et hypothèses actuelles en vertu de l'expérience du CP et de sa vision des tendances historiques et comprennent, entre autres, des attentes, évaluations, prévisions et hypothèses afférentes à ce qui suit : cours des devises étrangères, taux d'imposition effectif, ventes immobilières et revenu de pension; croissance économique nord-américaine et mondiale; croissance de la demande en marchandises; production industrielle et agricole durable; prix des marchandises et taux d'intérêt; performance de nos actifs et équipement; suffisance de notre budget de dépenses en capital dans l'exécution de notre plan d'affaires; notre habileté à terminer nos projets d'investissement et de maintenance, y compris l'achèvement du projet de terminal de transbordement dans les délais prévus; lois, réglementation et politiques gouvernementales applicables; disponibilité et coût de main-d'œuvre, services et infrastructure; demande du marché pour les services du CP; notre habileté à maintenir nos relations avec des tiers essentiels; satisfaction des tiers de leurs obligations envers le CP. Le CP croit que les attentes, évaluations, prévisions et hypothèses avancées dans les énoncés prévisionnels des présentes sont raisonnables en date d'aujourd'hui; toutefois, rien ne garantit qu'elles s'avéreront exactes.

Le lecteur est invité à ne pas se fier indûment aux énoncés prévisionnels, puisque les résultats réels pourraient être très différents des prévisions. En raison de leur nature, les énoncés prévisionnels fournis par le CP sont fondés sur des risques et éléments incertains inhérents susceptibles d'entraîner un écart important entre les résultats réels et les énoncés prévisionnels, dont entre autres, les facteurs suivants : changements des stratégies d'entreprise; conditions de crédit et conjoncture économique et commerciale en Amérique du Nord et dans le monde en général; risques associés à la production agricole (p. ex. conditions météorologiques et populations d'insectes); disponibilité et prix des produits énergétiques; effets des pressions concurrentielles et du resserrement des prix; capacité de l'industrie; revirements dans la demande du marché; fluctuations des prix des marchandises; incertitudes quant à la planification et aux volumes des marchandises transportées par le CP; inflation; instabilité géopolitique; modifications aux lois, à la réglementation et aux politiques gouvernementales, y compris la réglementation des tarifs; changements fiscaux et de taux d'imposition; hausse possible des coûts de maintenance et d'exploitation; fluctuations des prix du carburant; issue incertaine des enquêtes, poursuites ou autres types de réclamations et de litiges; conflits de travail; risques et responsabilités associés aux déraillements; transport de matières dangereuses; délai d'achèvement de projets d'investissement et de travaux de maintenance; fluctuation des taux d'intérêt et de la monnaie; effets des changements des conditions du marché et des taux d'escompte sur la situation financière des régimes de retraite et des investissements; restrictions commerciales ou autres changements aux ententes commerciales internationales; événements divers susceptibles de perturber l'exploitation, comme du temps violent (sécheresse, inondations, avalanches et séismes); menaces à la cybersécurité et façon dont les pouvoirs publics y réagissent; changements technologiques. La liste de facteurs mentionnés ci-dessus n'est pas exhaustive. Tous les facteurs pertinents sont décrits de temps à autre de façon détaillée dans des rapports déposés par le CP auprès des organismes de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il y a lieu de se reporter aux « Facteurs de risque » et à l'« Analyse de la direction de la situation financière et des résultats d'exploitation – énoncés prévisionnels » des rapports annuels et intermédiaires du CP sur les formulaires 10-K et 10-Q.

Les énoncés prévisionnels contenus dans ce communiqué de presse sont produits en date d'aujourd'hui. Le CP ne s'engage nullement à mettre à jour publiquement ou à réviser d'une autre façon les énoncés prévisionnels ou les hypothèses et les risques qui précèdent ayant une incidence sur lesdits énoncés prévisionnels, que ce soit à la suite de données nouvelles, d'événements futurs ou d'autres éléments, sauf s'il y est tenu par la loi.

Le Canadien Pacifique

Le Canadien Pacifique est un réseau ferroviaire transcontinental au Canada et aux États-Unis qui compte des liaisons directes avec des ports importants sur les côtes ouest et est. Le CP fournit à ses clients en Amérique du Nord un service ferroviaire concurrentiel avec un accès aux principaux marchés du monde. Le CP croît avec ses clients, offrant un éventail de services de transport de marchandises et de solutions logistiques et une expertise en chaîne d'approvisionnement. Consultez le site cpr.ca pour connaître les avantages des expéditions par le CP. CP-IR

Personnes-ressources :

Médias

Jeremy Berry
403 319-6227
Jeremy_Berry@cpr.ca
Alert_MediaRelations@cpr.ca 

Investisseurs

Maeghan Albiston
403 319-3591
investor@cpr.ca

 

 


Voir toutes les nouvelles